Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
4 août 2019 7 04 /08 /août /2019 11:43
"Going alone for three weeks to Peru by yourself? Are you serious, Father?” I remember the reaction of a couple of Bolivian friends a few days before my departure for Peru when I told them about my plan for the coming weeks. After seven months in Bolivia in the parish of Buenavista (100km from Santa Cruz) and after having made several tourist trips in this beautiful country, knowing that I was soon leaving South America without knowing if and when I would return there, I wanted to reconnect with some emotions felt many years ago. Being 45 years of age, it had been a while since the last time I travelled as a backpacker. My last trip was actually a 250 km walking pilgrimage to Santiago de Compostela in 2005...
A missionary backpacker in Peru !
A missionary backpacker in Peru !
A missionary backpacker in Peru !
Unlike the mass tourists who visit the Southern part of Peru, including the famous Machu Pichu, I had decided (it was an excellent idea, indeed) to explore northern Peru in particular. The program was quite dense: 4000 km by plane (three trips); 2384 km by bus and car (including 4 night buses), and many kilometers on foot, passing twice from sea level to over 3000m in altitude, and finally absolute record, a hiking trip that took me to 5120m of altitude... I had never experienced that before... During this three weeks, I also spent hours walking in town or in the mountains... Fortunately I had coca leaf to chew to counter altitude sickness...
Small towns or hiking spots in the mountain, great spectacle !Small towns or hiking spots in the mountain, great spectacle !Small towns or hiking spots in the mountain, great spectacle !
Small towns or hiking spots in the mountain, great spectacle !Small towns or hiking spots in the mountain, great spectacle !

Small towns or hiking spots in the mountain, great spectacle !

The joys of this trip? Countless! Firstly, within my three weeks’trip, I slept in a hotel for two nights only! On my way, I was successively welcomed by a diocesan priest, three Franciscan communities and my cousin Caroline and her family. That's a huge saving in terms of hotels and restaurants, but most of all, it gave me opportunity to do many encounters with local people. I was also able to participate to daily masses and in several places I was even invited to preside the celebrations. Having many conversations with the Peruvians, I could continue to improve my Spanish skill !
many beautiful museums on the way, as well as church worth to be visited.many beautiful museums on the way, as well as church worth to be visited.
many beautiful museums on the way, as well as church worth to be visited.

many beautiful museums on the way, as well as church worth to be visited.

Another great pleasure was the beauty of Peru's landscapes. By bus, on foot, alone or on an excursion, nature is absolutely magnificent and varied. The cultural side was not overlooked, since I discovered many pre-Incan civilizations that did not have their own writing but nevertheless had amazing architects. They built pyramids and fortresses at the top of the mountains ; they mastered metallurgy and the art of making jewellery, long before the Westerners. The Spanish conquest and its baroque architecture were worth to be admired in the many churches visited along the way. In terms of food, I also made discoveries including raw fish dishes (spanish: chevice) (too spicy the first time...) and guinea pigs (not famous, though...)
Franciscan community in Huaraz and Our Lady of the angels in Lima
Franciscan community in Huaraz and Our Lady of the angels in Lima

Franciscan community in Huaraz and Our Lady of the angels in Lima

The highlight of the trip was my stay with my cousin Caroline married to a Peruvian, Joel, parents of two lovely children, Mateo and Camilo. Camilo is the youngest (4 years old) and has a rather independent character. Mateo, seven years old, as comfortable in French as in Spanish, was delighted to meet his cousin from Belgium and the pleasure was obviously shared. And what a joy to meet a united family! The three of us are talkative by nature, so we had a lot of nice conversations. They took me to Lima (where I met Vietnamese sisters that I knew back from Saigon!) and they invited me to spend the beginning of Holy Week in Ayacucho, in southern Peru, a city that attracts an amazing crowd during Holy Week because of its processions and its folklore. It was a long trip to reach Ayacucho (go and return). When we reached the top of one hill, we even had snow! Back in Lima, I went back to Bolivia to spend the end of Holy Week and the last ten days I had in South America. I don't know if I'll still have the opportunity to make such a long and beautiful journey in my life, but maybe… Being a priest and a missionary means knowing how to stay for a long time with the people you are sent to, but it also means sometimes daring to adventure for a shorter time, made of discoveries and encounters. The world is vast and beautiful and what an excitement to discover it!
Holy Week in Ayacucho
Holy Week in Ayacucho

Holy Week in Ayacucho

Partager cet article
Repost0

commentaires

English - Français blog !!!

A blog written in Vietnamese? Not for now...Anyway, the articles published in this blog are usually in English and in French. Up to you to choose your language!

A quand un blog en Vietnamien?... Ce n'est pas pour demain, mais les articles publiés sur ce blog sont généralement et en Français et en Anglais... A vous de choisir...

La Providence passe par vous.

sm vn

La mission n'est possible que grâce à vous: soutien aux pauvres (1), y compris le parrainage scolaire, aux jeunes en formation (2), à la communauté (3), à la construction du séminaire à Manille (4), nous comptons sur votre aide! Une aide si modeste qu'elle soit, c'est important et encourageant !

- Pour nous aider de Belgique ou de l Etranger: Compte de Frédéric Rossignol chez BNP Paribas Fortis :
BIC : GEBABEBB            IBAN : BE59 0014 7732 2326



Rem: En l'état actuel des choses, il nous est impossible de vous donner une attestation fiscale.